Get to Know Us: Purchasing Team

16 Dec

This is a new type of post, but collages seemed like fun, so we decided to give it a spin.

What’s the collage about? Simply put, it’s about our head buyer – the one who makes all purchasing decisions. You’ll probably never talk to or see her face-to-face, but when you browse our online shop, she’s shopping right along with you because she’s handpicked every single product. We wanted to know where she drew inspiration from to curate Rinadon.com’s extensive collection and thought you’d be curious, too.

Footnotes (clockwise, from top left):

Starbucks Tazo Green Tea Latte – Mmm! I rarely order anything larger than a “tall,” but with this delicious green tea latte, it’s always at least a “grande!”

Project Accessory – If you’re a fan of Project Runway, you’re going to love this. It’s amazing what these creative minds are able to produce under so much pressure.

Fashion Magazines – Yes, there’s Vogue, but Harper’s Bazaar was here first. It’s one of my favorite fashion magazines – full of ideas for my buying trips. I also highly recommend Women’s Wear Daily.

Kanye West – Despite the fiasco with Taylor Swift a couple years ago, he is a stand-out style icon. In fact, he debuted his own fashion line back in October at Paris Fashion Week.

Holiday Cards – Even though it seems like technology is taking over our lives, there is nothing that compares to handwritten letters/notes. Crane & Co. has a beautiful selection.

Evelyn Lauder – This New York Times article describes her best: “champion of breast cancer research.” The creator of the Pink Ribbon, she is an inspiration to me both professionally and personally.

Philanthropy – Helping others has always been a big part of who I am. World Vision lets you sponsor a child and one day, I saw the cutest yet saddest-looking little boy from South Africa. He stole my heart!

The Help – My daughter recommended this book to me, saying, “Mom, you have to read this. I know you’ll like it.” I laughed, cried, and scowled. The relationships between the characters are both heart-breaking and enlightening. I can’t wait to see the movie.

Hip Hop Magazines – At my age, keeping up with the latest hip hop artists is tough work! Without publications like VIBE, I can’t say I’d know who Drake is… 🙂

Leopard – Although my job is all about buying accessories, I have a confession: I love animals. The leopard print covers both of my interests: fashion and animals.

Have a request for our talented buyer? Leave a comment here or email us. She’ll do her best to grant your wish!

2 Responses to “Get to Know Us: Purchasing Team”

  1. May Atkinson December 22, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Love PRoject Accessories
    Do you have the 2012 jewelry trend yet.
    Colors
    Statement Necklace still in
    Feather are they still going to be in
    Stretch Rings
    Its seems like brooch are become popular
    I am getting ready to see what I want in my Ebay store for 2012 and want the very latest.
    Curious minds want to know.

    • rinadon December 23, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

      Hi!

      Yes, isn’t Project Accessories fantastic? I love it. Our buying team is actually planning on releasing a blog post about spring 2012 trends in the first week of January, so stay tuned for that!

      But, to answer a couple of your questions, we think stretch rings are always great no matter the season (since you don’t have to deal with the hassle of stocking different sizes), statement necklaces are still glamorous, and we think feathers should still be trendy (although maybe not as much as they were this summer and fall/winter 2011… for example, feather hair extensions is probably on the way to a dying-out phase).

      Thank you for commenting! Love hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

